Camping Composting   Leave a comment

Oh the joys of camping. We get out in nature where we enjoy the sound of the breeze through the trees, the smell of redwoods, the mesmerizing vision of flame and embers, and where somehow we create more waste than usual. At least some of it is organic waste, and therefore burn-able, so most of us throw it in the fire pit to burn away in the nightly fire. That works great for paper plates and napkins (especially if they’re greasy 🙂 ), but is an apple core doing the fire any good? What about an egg shell? This summer for the first time I decided to compost my wet organic matter and egg shells. On the first camping trip of the summer I felt very self conscious about it. While it felt natural to me to pull out a Ziploc bag and put my bits of vegetables and fruits in it, I also felt a little weird being in a campground with garbage cans yet packing my trash back home with me. It would have felt even more awkward if it had been at a campground with bear lockers. There’s nothing quite like putting a bag of stuff-to-compost in with your food and toiletries. For many backpackers and back-country campers this kind of action is nothing new. In some places you have to pack all your waste out, and I mean ALL your waste. For me, I think this will be a regular practice because it heightened my enjoyment of nature knowing that I was producing that much less landfill waste, that less of an inefficient fire (not that campfires aren’t already very inefficient fires), and that much more luscious compost at home (eventually).

Posted September 21, 2011 by mayakey in environment

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

