The Tomato Sauce Aisle Struggle   2 comments

Tomato sauce and I don’t have the greatest of relationships. I don’t ever remember putting tomato sauce on my pasta. From my earliest memories I would put a pile of spaghetti on one side of the plate, a barrier of vegetables across the plate, and the tomato sauce and meatballs on the other side (or even in a separate bowl). My preference for pizza is little to no tomato sauce; olive oil, pesto, and tomatillo sauce work just as well for me! When I met my husband the fact that he prided himself on doctoring up and improving tomato sauce (and that was almost the limit of his cooking at the time) ran head-long into my aversion to the stuff. Over the last few years we’ve struck a compromise by cooking with tomato sauce in “caserole” dishes and vegetables, and kept pasta separate. And usually he buys the sauce so I don’t have to think about it.

It’s good that he buys it because when it is on my shopping list I usually spend several minutes standing in front of the tomato sauce shelves unable to make a decision. Especially living in “the Big Tomato” as Sacramento/the Central Valley is sometimes referred to, it seems like buying locally produced tomato sauce should be the best choice. There should be no need to buy Italian or East Coast imports, right? And generic brands don’t indicate where they were grown/made. But most of the sauces that are grown/made in California are more pricey artisan sauces. Usually I would easily chose the artisan sauce, but it’s really hard to pay more money for something you don’t even like.

Recently, though I found myself saying “that was absolutely delicious” after eating a tomato sauce based dish that was made with a generic brand organic tomato sauce. So long story short, this shouldn’t be a conundrum for me. Just get the generic organic sauce and forget about artisan sauces that I don’t appreciate; and acknowledge that it just doesn’t actually make sense to buy local in this case. I wonder how long it will take to convince myself of that?

Posted July 15, 2011 by mayakey in advocacy, food, shopping

Tagged with

2 responses to “The Tomato Sauce Aisle Struggle

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I had to laugh! It brought back memories of our Mexico stay, Maya with the spaghetti and sauce on the side and Ty with a ham and cheese sandwich. I worried about you two.

  2. As I recall, I got sick at one point and dad told me that I was throwing up because I was eating too much of the same thing (espagueti boloñesa con salsa al lado, I still remember). As a kid that may have been the only time that I didn’t really believe him. I think those 6 months were the only time you and dad let us eat like “kids”. I was so young that I don’t regret not being more adventuresome in my eating while in Mexico. I still remember chicken tamales with bone fragments in them, rice covered with little whole fish, raw beef at restaurants, and that horrible beef tongue soup with the connective tissues still on the meat! But I also remember pan dulces, fruit, and a really good octopus ink soup.

Leave a Reply

