From Detox Diet to Gallstone Diet   4 comments

This spring is proving to be an interesting dietary experience. I was not planning to do a spring detox, since I was hoping to be pregnant, but since I’m not I was able to slip in a quick detox. That means for a couple of weeks I was avoiding meat and dairy, among other things. It’s really not that different from normal life, since it is not uncommon for us to only have meat once or twice a week, but during that time I do try to plan menus so that my husband does not feel like his diet is being restricted as well. He’ll add a sausage or some cheese to the meal, and since my restricted diet is only short term, it’s not too much torture for me to watch.

This year overlapping the reintroduction phase of my detox was the discovery that Mike has gallstones and the subsequent dietary restrictions for him. It is a very odd feeling to be on the other side of this coin. I’ve never before been the torturer who eats a hot dog under the nose of someone who cannot partake. I felt kinda bad about it, but obviously not bad enough to skip the hot dog (sausages are my carcinogen of choice, after all). It is odd putting cheese on MY salad, but not his.

The advised diet for someone with gallstones is definitely restrictive since it is so low fat. To me it seems unhealthily low-fat, but I guess that’s meant to be a short term diet. Apparently all nuts and avocados are off limits, in addition to most meats and cheese. The biggest difference between the detox diet and the gallstone diet are that when detoxing all wheat products are restricted so nuts and avocados become the best source of gut-fill. Unfortunately, I think the kibosh has been put on one of my favorite meals of the year: Easter brunch; because I don’t think I’ve ever encountered a formal brunch that was sufficiently low in fat.

Posted April 11, 2011 by mayakey in food, health

Tagged with

4 responses to “From Detox Diet to Gallstone Diet

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I would love to share your Great Website to my friends on Facebook, how to do that?

  2. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on carbohydrate diet plan.
    Regards

  3. What a stuff of un-ambiguity and preserveness of valuable
    knowledge on the topic of unpredicted feelings.

  4. Excellent way of describing, and pleasant post to take facts
    regarding my presentation subject, which i am going to
    present in school.

Leave a Reply

