Sleep Takes Precendence   1 comment

Do you have a bad habit that is persistent despite repeated attempts to change? Mine is getting to bed late. For pretty much two decades now I have not been able to go to bed before midnight, no matter how tired I am. I’ve tried several times to do something as simple as go to bed when I become tired, and I always fall back into resisting going to bed. The extra baffling thing is that I love lounging in bed, so why I can’t make myself do something that my body and mind both enjoy is a mystery. When trying to live a conscious life, aware of the self and its needs, not being able to follow up on such a fundamental need and desire is a big failing. And in anticipation of being pregnant, when I will NEED more sleep, and being a parent, when I will have even more to do, I think I’ve reached my breaking point.

For the last month I have set a strict bedtime of 11pm, with a punitive punishment that I don’t get to do the puzzles in the paper the next day if I don’t make bedtime. So far it is working, probably helped by the fact that I am afraid of what will happen if I don’t get over this failing. I do not want to fall into the trap of trying to be superwoman; and staying up late to “get things done” is one big step on that road. The crazy thing is that I’m actually more stressed now that I’m getting to bed earlier because all of a sudden my evening got an hour shorter. This blog suffers the most because it is at the bottom of the priority list.

Where else to trim so that evenings/nights are both not stressful and providing sufficient sleep? That’s the next hurdle to figure out to make this a long term change. And I’m stumped. I have a 10-item weekday to do list that is a good reminder that there’s no room for anything else on my plate during the week:

  1. Work
  2. Zero-sum (basically: pick up after myself)
  3. Downtime (cuddling with my husband, mostly)
  4. Dinner (cooking, which is split with my husband, and eating)
  5. Exercise
  6. Shower
  7. Meditation
  8. Fun (newspaper, comics, TV, puzzles)
  9. Bills etc.
  10. Prayer group/choir practice/blogging (depending on the night)

I’m not willing to stop exercising, I don’t think skipping dinner would be healthy, my husband and co-workers might not appreciate me not showering, bills aren’t optional, and neither is a little me- and fun-time. The prayer group and choir are both things that I really longed for before they were an option, and I really enjoy them now. I cannot for the life of me figure out how anyone else in the world gets all this stuff done.

Posted April 5, 2011 by mayakey in conscious living, goals, self-care

One response to “Sleep Takes Precendence

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think this is a genetic sleep problem, Grandpa, George, Martin, MacLane, Sheri, Mary, Pat and I tend to get less sleep that most everyone else. I think, I am the only one that actually seems to need more sleep but I need help falling asleep, until the world changes to everyone using their own internal clock.

Leave a Reply

