Yeay For Unwashed Towels!   Leave a comment

Sounds funny, but this week I have been extremely happy about unwashed towels. I am at a conference, staying in a hotel, and they are actually not washing the towels. I could have done a little happy dance when I walked into the room the first day and peaked in the bathroom to see the towel still hanging where I left it. Sure it may be common now for hotels to advertise that they are “green” by not washing towels that you leave hanging, or washing sheets only every 3 days or on checkout. However, in my experience, they don’t follow through. I always hang my towels back up so that they don’t get washed, and usually come back into the room to fresh towels. It’s hotel greenwashing. I mean seriously, at home the towels get washed weekly so I think I can live without daily fresh towels at a hotel. And it’s not just about the water use, although that is significant, it is also about all the bleach used to keep them white.

I know that I’m not the only one with this gripe since I’ve had this conversation with fellow “greenies”. At least I haven’t ever gotten to the point of leaving the “Do Not Disturb” on the door all day so that housekeeping doesn’t come in at all, just so that the towels don’t get washed. Although, now that I think about it… my bathroom and floor at home get cleaned weekly so I could probably live without the daily cleaning at a hotel, too. It’s so much of a hassle to avoid housekeeping, though.

Posted March 16, 2011 by mayakey in travel

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

