One Year Blog-iversary   2 comments

Wow, I’ve been blogging here for a whole year! I hope someone enjoyed/got something out of something that I have written here. This has been INCREDIBLY helpful for myself on my journey, and I really hope that I’m not the only one. I’ve debated stopping, but I enjoy writing and at the least I know that I get value out of it so I hope someone else does too. I still don’t feel like I’m very good at blogging, since I don’t know that I’ve really found my voice yet. Part of the problem is uncertainty about my audience. At the outset I planned for my primary audience to be family and friends with a secondary audience of people I don’t know in person. But after a year I’m not really sure who my (tiny) audience is, and that adds to the challenge of deciding what/how to write. I’d absolutely love feedback, and a hint of who actually reads this blog. My big wish for the blog would be more comments and less of me writing into a void. I would really love to eventually use the blog to help me write a treatise that I have planned on rights and responsibilities, but that would require 1-an audience and 2-commenters. I intent to continue writing, because I’m having fun and can’t keep up with all of my post ideas. Time is definitely the limiting factor here.

WordPress’ stats are helpful at knowing if people are actually reading what I write and yet not because of all of the spam referrers. The blog stats page tells me how many page hits, referrers (websites from which someone clicked to my blog), and search engine hits. Unfortunately there is a chronic problem with spammy referrers messing up the stats for small blogs like this one, so I can’t tell how many people have read a particular post. Supposedly there have been 2,663 page hits over the last year, but it looks like around 15% are completely bogus. For example: fifa-world-cup-2010-info.blogspot.com, onlinedegree.ebonito.com/, tramadol-segregative.blogspot.com/2011/01/discount-tramadol-author-arron-newton.html ??? Apparently these sites send out bots as a way to promote the websites. I have to admit that at first I did occasionally follow a link, and they’re usually an ad or a fake blog. Some people reeeeeally need to get a life, and realize that bots are a really ineffective tool for promoting a website. Spam comments at least make sense from a sleazy-person-promoting-something perspective. And while there have been 158 comments, I have deleted 1,011 spam comments. Most of those spam comments were gibberish, some were in asian or eastern european languages, and most are very obvious if only by the completely advertise-y email addresses (nothing in the spam queue right now to use as an example).

It has been very surprising how may search engine hits this blog has gotten. It still totally weirds me out that this blog shows up on a search engine, but I have no objection. The most popular search terms have by far been related to carpet recycling in Sacramento and the Bay Area. Other popular search terms that brought up posts from this blog have been related to cable boxes, marmoleum, junk food, solar gas stations, smoothies, and whether pregnant women should pump gas. It’s fun looking at the particular search terms that people use.

So, again I say I hope that you’ve enjoyed some of my writing, and I’d love to hear from you!

Posted March 2, 2011 by mayakey in mission

2 responses to “One Year Blog-iversary

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m here! And congrats on your first year in the blogosphere. =)

    Wonder if the high amount of spam is due to WordPress? I’m on blogger and don’t get much spam (I do use captcha though). Maybe you’re just more popular in Europe than you thought!

    • Based on the what I’ve read in the forums, this does seem to be a WordPress thing. I guess these bots are taking advantage of something in the way WP collects stats. They haven’t figure out how to block spam referrers without blocking potential real referrers.

Leave a Reply

