Okay Okay, I Get The Message, Visualization Is Important   2 comments

For last month or so I have literally been getting the same message repeatedly and from many different sources. The message is that if you can’t visualize something happening, it won’t; or conversely that the best way to make things happen is to visualize it. I know why I’m getting these messages, but it has taken me an unusually long time to actually GET the message.

The issue is basically the complete and utter lack of visualization that I have been able to do about getting pregnant. Before we started trying I had managed to “create” the conception story and pregnancy story as my naturopath instructed me as homework. But it wasn’t very strong visualization, and collapsed as soon as we started actually trying to get pregnant. In fact, I ended up following the tactic of not thinking about it at all in an attempt to shield myself from the potential heartbreak of trying to get pregnant. Apparently the universe disagrees with that tactic. When I first started receiving these messages my response was along the lines of: “women get pregnant without visualization all the time, it would be arrogant to think I could make it happen by wishing.” And I kept getting the messages. Eventually I realized that while it may be true that visualization doesn’t matter for someone who hasn’t used it regularly as a tool, the story might be different for someone who has used visualization regularly in the past. Then I started actually paying attention to my energy flows and realized that by deliberately not thinking about trying to get pregnant I was essentially directing my person energy flows AROUND my second chakra. Again, that might not matter for someone who doesn’t care a whit about personal energy flows, but I normally care very much and have a very minor ability to sense the flow of personal energy. In a weird way it makes sense that visualization might not make any difference for a person to whom it doesn’t matter, but might make a world of difference to someone like me for whom the act of visualizing is generally important. Or as I just explained it to my husband, for someone who uses visualization regularly, deliberately NOT visualizing something is akin to willing it to NOT happen.

In my experience, visualization is an incredibly powerful tool, but it is also very hard to do. I think most people figure it is just about making a picture in your head of what you want to happen. But for it to be really effective, the image has to be fully sensory. Whatever you are visualizing needs to feel real; you need to be in the image. Visualizing giving a presentation? Feel the muscles of your legs holding you up, feel your feet pressed against the floor, feel the coolness of the table against your hands, hear the whir of the projector’s fan, see the dust flecks in the beam of light, feel yourself get nervous with tight stomach and sweaty underarms, and then feel yourself take a deep breath and feel the tension go away, imagine looking at the audience as you talk and seeing their reactions, and imagine yourself presenting and doing a darn good job at it. It’s like a mental rehearsal. The challenge for me was how do you visualize the unknown? That’s where my visualization broke down. I could barely visualize being pregnant, but didn’t have enough knowledge of fertility to visualize getting pregnant.

Wikipedia to the rescue! It took me a while to find it but their prenatal development page has an awesomely detailed explanation of fertilization and embryonic development. Just what the doctor ordered (which is actually in this case just what the doctor ordered).

Posted February 25, 2011 by mayakey in centering, pre-pregnancy, psychology

Tagged with , ,

2 responses to “Okay Okay, I Get The Message, Visualization Is Important

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So ARE you pregnant? Or just able to visualize?

Leave a Reply

