The Aftermath Of The Junk Food Weekend   3 comments

I wasn’t planning to participate in Rhonda Jean’s “On my mind…” but this morning as I walked past the garbage can I was reminded that there is a single image that captures what has been on my mind all this week: the garbage can stuffed with the packaging from my junk food weekend last weekend.

It’s been on my mind all week because I didn’t enjoy it. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed not having a to-do list for two days (even if it was very hard for me to let go of being busy). What I didn’t enjoy was the junk food! Several years ago, the last time I did one of these, junk food was a special treat. Apparently when you make enough lifestyle changes, (certain) junk food can go from being a special treat to being something that isn’t even desirable any more. Maybe next time even the chips won’t be appealing any more.

The specific thing that struck me when I walked by the garbage was just how full it is. We just use a bucket as our kitchen garbage can, and even then it doesn’t usually fill up in a week. But with all of the junk food packaging in there, it is overflowing now! This is oddly comforting to me, since I generally feel like we produce way too much garbage normally. I guess as we’ve cut down on the packaged foods that we eat, I hadn’t even noticed the reduction in our total garbage volume. (I’m not the one who empties the garbage cans every week.)

Posted February 18, 2011 by mayakey in food, resource use

Tagged with ,

3 responses to “The Aftermath Of The Junk Food Weekend

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I know what you mean by items of food that used to be treats and very desirable are no longer enticing…unfortunately good quality chocolate is still my weakness! Packaging or over packaging seems to be getting worse as well…I really hate the way the supermarkets now pack mince and chicken in these big ugly plasctic tub things! Thank goodness we still have ‘stand alone’ butcher shops!

  2. A year or so ago, I was driving the kids around town and I was really hungry, so I went into the deli and bought a package of Yodels. I remember eating them when I was a kid. They were one of my favorites. Well, they were awful.. They didnt even taste like food. Lesson learned.

    Dr. Rochelle Mozlin
  3. Good to know I’m not alone in this experience!

Leave a Reply

