Sayonara Green Sacramento   Leave a comment

Today was closing day for Green Sacramento, the local retailer for green building materials. When I first got the announcement in early January a few thoughts ran through my head like “of course, after I buy a house the only retailer of green building materials in town goes out of business,” and “oh no! how are we going to order the carpet for the nursery!” Before we moved into the house, we replaced the flooring in the other three bedrooms and the living room, but since no furniture would be going in the nursery yet, we left that room to be the staging room as we started to move boxes over. The plan was to install that carpet in the spring. Luckily that is still the plan. A couple of weeks ago I went by the store to buy zero-VOC caulk before they sell out and discuss our alternatives for supplying the last section of carpet and padding, so now I know that there is a store in Davis that sells the same brand of carpet. Whew!

Today after our farmer’s market trip, my husband and I drove over to Green Sacramento again, since it was their final closing day. I wanted to see if they had any more caulk (I never got around to caulking the baseboards after installing the flooring), and just see what was left. We didn’t intend to buy much of anything since at the moment we really don’t have the budget available. However, they had very low-VOC stain, which would be nice for a couple of projects on our wish list. And then my husband noticed the stack of wire shelving that was being liquidated, so we bought shelves for the garage workbench that we haven’t yet put together. Then I noticed that AFM Safecoat has glazes, and that tickled my mind about my thoughts for how to paint the nursery. So in a few minutes time, my husband and I discussed the germ of an idea for the nursery walls, almost completely changed that idea so that we could accommodate the types of paint they had left, selected paint and tints (zero-VOC), and bought them. So sometime in the not-too-distant future we will be painting the bottom half of the nursery walls dark green and the top half dusky blue (they were all out of the base paint for light colors). The next nearest retailer to sell AFM Safecoat is in Berkeley, so we abstained from getting any other paints in case we get halfway through a project and need more/make a change. There are other brands of zero-VOC paints, but AFM Safecoat is the brand with which I am most familiar. Last time I looked on the shelves of Home Depot and Lowe’s, they do not carry any no-VOC paints, and so won’t be getting my business regarding painting.

Oh, and we bought all the remaining caulk, too. At 50% off it was hard to resist.

Posted February 5, 2011 by mayakey in home, shopping

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

