Desperately Designing Curtains   Leave a comment

It’s funny how sometimes you can know something and forget it at the same time. I know that I do not sleep well at night when it is not completely dark. However, I seemed to forget that when I prioritized our wish list in our new house, and ranked curtains for the master bedroom as “luxury” items. It took an outside view to point out the “duh” considering that we have a street light that streams into our master bedroom window making it so bright that I could probably read at the window if I tried. At my doctor’s office last week our discussion focussed mostly on what I could do for the various contributing factors to my current minor depression so that my doctor could determine if she needs to adjust my supplements. She asked me to list some things that I could do to treat/take care of myself, and I mentioned the curtain project that sort of started at Christmas. Then I mentioned the street light. Installing curtains is now assigned as my homework to be done in 1 month. After all, not sleeping well night after night for over 5 months could certainly contribute to depression!

I doubt that I am the only person who unintentionally discounts things like the effect of the street light on my well being. There are lots of things that we *know* will help us to feel/be better/healthier, like exercising and not overindulging in fat/sugar/salt, but that we deliberately do anyway. This is a whole other class of things that aren’t necessarily commonly known, and that are great indications of how we tend to not pay close attention to our bodies and minds. Things like sleeping in true dark, drinking lots of water, or even not sitting with crossed legs. The negatives effects are subtle, and unless you have a commitment to listen to and care for yourself, they go unnoticed or ignored. Sometimes I wish there was such a thing as a “subtly unhealthy” audit to help bring them to the fore.

Now that I’ve had my “duh” moment, I am scrambling to get curtains. I spent a week visualizing curtains and shades and discussing my ideas with my husband to figure out what would work best. I did some online browsing for pre-made blackout curtains, but most of them are made of PVC, and of course none of them use organic fabrics. So I’m going to follow a suggestion that I saw somewhere a while ago, and do 2 or 3 layers of a fabric like velvet. Now I need to find fabrics. The local fabric store does not sell organic fabrics, so I’ve ordered swatches from some online organic fabric vendors. I also need to find hardware to make sure that we can actually hang the double tab-top curtains that I have in my mind.

Posted January 24, 2011 by mayakey in conscious living, health, home, self-care, shopping

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

