Super-Splurge Self Pampering   2 comments

Every time I come home to Albuquerque, I have to make an appointment for a massage at Betty’s Bath and Day Spa, where I can soak in a hot tub or sit in a sauna before the massage. In my humble opinion massages are sooooo much more effective when preceded by heat therapy. The heat therapy takes care of the surface tension of the muscles, and so when you go into the massage both mind and muscles are better able to be treated by the massage. Unfortunately, I have yet to find somewhere in Sacramento where I can experience the same. Arden Hills Spa does allow spa patrons to use the hot tub and sauna in the club, but that place is somewhat pricey and I had a rather bad experience there for my pre-wedding spa party. So I splurge when I come home. It is a case where an egregious use of energy (to heat the water in the hot tub or keep a sauna at temp) is perfectly ok in my book. Maybe it is hypocritical of me, but I really value the heat therapy on a spiritual level and not just the physical/mental level, and isn’t one of the main purposes of life to enjoy living?

This time, I added an extra splurge. They were featuring a holiday special of a 1 hour massage and 1 hour facial, and since I have a backlog of 3 body treatments (goal rewards), I decided to go for it. I haven’t gotten a facial at a spa in several years because I am usually content to do it at home. It was nice and very relaxing to have the facial treatments done to me, and I think I dozed off at some point (This was after 15 minutes in a sauna, 15 minutes in a hot tub, a few minutes of stretching, and a full body massage). But there were a few times during the treatment when I remember thinking, “What is she doing now?”. She went through lots of cotton and tissue, and I lost count of how many different products she used. It was the nicest feeling facial that I’ve ever paid for, but looking at the shelf covered with open bottles for all of the products that she used I decided that I still prefer doing it my way at home.

The professional way means using a fancy steam machine, lots of cotton, tissues, and hot washclothes, and using countless products. All of those products required manufacture, packaging, and shipping. And I’d be surprised if most of those products actually DID anything during the treatment. Call me a sceptic. When I give myself a facial treatment at home it is simple and cheap. I need a pot with boiling water, dried herbs (mostly lavender, rosemary, and fennel), essential oils (mostly lavender, tea tree, and bergamot), a ground oatmeal scrub, dried buttermilk or plain yogurt, and clay. One tub of clay may be pricey, but it lasts for years. I tried grinding the pure clay kitty litter to save money but found that I just couldn’t grind it fine enough to really work well. Most of these ingredients are already in my pantry and require very little energy or packaging to prepare and store. So maybe in five years I’ll get another professional facial, but until then I’ll stick to my homemade pampering.

Posted December 28, 2010 by mayakey in frugal living, personal care, resource use, self-care

Tagged with , ,

2 responses to “Super-Splurge Self Pampering

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Don’t put kitty litter on your face. Yuck. 🙂

    • It’s not that disgusting. I read many years ago that most spas don’t buy special clay for facials but buy the pure clay kitty litter and then grind it. So I tried it (it took a while to find because the pure clay with no additives is not what most stores stock). And hated it. I couldn’t grind it fine enough and it was a real pain to spend a half hour grinding clay before every facial. So now I have a bag of clay kitty litter that makes excellent fill for platters of candles or vases used as candle holders.

Leave a Reply

