Ecstatic at 64 Degrees   1 comment

This weekend has, in once sense especially, been an absolutely awesome weekend. The temperature of our house has not dropped below 63 degrees! I actually did little dances of joy a few times when I walked by the thermostat. Why is 63 degrees significant? Because our thermostat is set to 60 degrees (55 during the day on weekdays, it’s a programmable thermostat), so it never turned on all weekend long. That is despite outdoor temperatures in the 40’s and 50’s and lots of clouds. We haven’t even winterized the house yet! In our previous house the heater would have been on almost constantly during a weekend like this. The highs over the next couple of days are not forecast to reach 50 degrees and there is still a good chance of more rain, so we’ll have to see if we can keep the heater off with an ambient high below 50 degrees.

I realize most people got to “our thermostat is set to 60 degrees” and choked. But really, it’s not that bad. My husband and I have an agreement since we have opposite temperature ranges. He gets uncomfortably hot easily, and I get cold easily. So in the summer he controls the temperature and sets it as high as he can tolerate, and in the winter I control the temperature and set it as low as I can tolerate. In the old house I was stuck paying over a hundred dollars a month to heat a house to 65 degrees, so I refused to set the thermostat any higher than that. When I lived by myself I was literally non-functional below 65 degrees, and my finger joints always ached. Since my husband moved in with me several years ago I found that I could decrease the set temperature and still be comfortable. I’m not entirely sure why another person’s presence makes 60 degrees feel like 65 degrees alone, but it does for me.

My coping strategies for a cold house are 2-3 clothing layers including at least one sweater/sweatshirt, wool mules with a cork sole, a wool blanket on the sofa, 3-4 blankets on my side of the bed, and really hot showers at night before bed. At least in my opinion, none of those things inconvenience me. Since I love cuddling up under a blanket I would be doing some of them no matter what the set temperature. After a while you get used to the low temperature.

I would like to set a challenge to anyone to lower their thermostat setting by a couple of degrees this winter. Leave it lower for at least a month to give yourself a chance to get used to it. You might surprise yourself. I’m not saying that you’re going to like 60 degrees, or even 65 degrees, but find what your lowest comfortable temperature is. There is a certain magic to living seasonally, and by that I mean actually experiencing each season and not just watching it go by without experiencing it.

Posted November 22, 2010 by mayakey in energy use, home

Tagged with ,

One response to “Ecstatic at 64 Degrees

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. UPDATE: The heater has stayed off except for nights/early mornings that the temperature drops near or below freezing. I can accept that.

Leave a Reply

