No Love For Baking Soda As Toothpaste   1 comment

The type of contact cleaner that I use has finally started selling small containers small enough to meet the liquid restrictions for carry-on luggage, so for my trip this last weekend I thought I could actually avoid checking any luggage. Since that 3 oz liquid restriction went into place I’ve had to choose between checking luggage or wearing my glasses for every trip, and for the sake of my own comfort that usually means I check luggage. But it’s such a hassle!

As I was packing my carry-on for this trip, I realized that toothpaste is also part of the liquid restriction, and I didn’t have a small tube of toothpaste. Or rather, I didn’t have an acceptable small tube of toothpaste. I do have the ones the dentist hands out, but I find those disgustingly sweet and not an option. Would I have to check my bag because of one measly tube of toothpaste?! No of course not! There’s another option: baking soda.

Yep, that’s right, in order to carry on my luggage I decided to go retro and try brushing with plain old baking soda for the weekend as an experiment. It’s cheaper and more environmentally friendly than buying a throw away tube, and some people think that it works just as well.

Well, it doesn’t. Quite simply, toothpaste works better than baking soda alone. I’m not even talking about the superficial taste issue (granular salty taste vs. minty freshness), I’m talking about the actual brushing experience and clean-mouth-feeling. It’s harder to brush with baking soda, or at least it’s impossible to get away with taking shortcuts. And while right after brushing my mouth felt just as clean (if a bit salty), within a shorter time period my teeth felt grungy again. Flossing was an absolute must because baking soda does absolutely nothing for the area between teeth, just the flat surfaces and gums.

Not that I was contemplating switching over to baking soda permanently, but would I do this again next time I travel? Yeah, I think so. A baggy of baking soda is a much easier travel companion than a stainless steel tube that gets banged up and wrinkled. So for short trips by myself I could do it again. Of course, avoiding the liquid restrictions by carrying a small plastic baggy of white powder has potential other complications. I guess I need to find a better container, and preferably a non-disposable container.

Posted October 28, 2010 by mayakey in frugal living, personal care, simple living, travel, unshopping

Tagged with ,

One response to “No Love For Baking Soda As Toothpaste

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Simplifying My Travel Packing List « Love Knowledge Zeal & Fortitude

Leave a Reply

