Unplugged Weekend   1 comment

I’m back now after a short vacation. I haven’t posted in a few days because I was enjoying an unplugged weekend. I flew across country for a cousin’s wedding, and decided to leave my computer at home and keep the TV off in the hotel room. This was a long weekend dedicated to spending time with friends and family, and catching up on my reading in-between. Unplugged weekends are a rare event for me, as I am guessing they are for most people. When I’m home, the temptation of the TV and the computer is huge, and when I’m in a hotel for some reason I cannot resist turning on the TV and channel surfing. This weekend, though, I pulled it off. Granted, I did watch the end of the Giants-Phillies game 6. However, I was hanging out at a bar with my cousins and my uncle “enjoying” the karaoke while I watched the game, so I don’t think it counts.

Unplugging can feel so good. There’s a certain amount of liberation in the act of just walking away from the digital stimulation and constant digital communication, even if it is just for a short time. A few weeks ago we had a wellness challenge at work to reduce TV watching. For a real challenge I could have made myself go two weeks without any TV, but I just didn’t want to. I did, however, average only a half hour of TV per day for those two weeks, and boy did it feel good. I suspect that a typical week would be an average of about 1 hour a day for me, but I haven’t actually tracked that in a couple of years. The computer is even a bigger temptation that the TV for me, especially since I started reading blogs. I can spend hours on the computer working with spreadsheets, doing email, reading blogs, playing games, looking at/working with photos, and much more. It used to be downright painful to leave my computer for a week to go to my mom’s house for Christmas. We’ll have to see what happens this year that I have a laptop.

Posted October 26, 2010 by mayakey in musings, simple living, travel

Tagged with , ,

One response to “Unplugged Weekend

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Simplifying My Travel Packing List « Love Knowledge Zeal & Fortitude

Leave a Reply

