Bye-bye Blueberries   Leave a comment

Last week was officially the last week for blueberries. Two weeks ago they said it was the last week as well, so I was hoping there would still be blueberries this week. No such luck. We’ve been buying blueberries every week at the farmer’s market this year and eating them on our cereal for breakfast. I’ve never done that before but it just kind of happened naturally this year.

This spring/summer the search was on for cereal toppings that aren’t super sweet. In the past I topped my cold cereals with a variety of granolas, but the sweetness had become overbearing. I love the crunch and the extra kick of flavor, though. I found that the really expensive granolas at the grocery store that come in small bags aren’t too sweet. In fact they are full of nuts and dried fruit and I would have fallen in love if it weren’t for the fact that they’re really expensive and coupons are few and far between. I realized that what I craved wasn’t really a granola, what I wanted was the flavor of the fruit and the texture of the nuts.

So when blueberries showed up at the farmer’s market, I pounced. I pulled the walnuts out of the freezer, chopped a few up, and threw them in my cereal as well. Oh it was wonderful. My plans to learn how to make a low-fat low-sugar granola at home disappeared. All I needed was the nuts (walnuts or pecans) and the blueberries.

But now fresh blueberries are gone and I’m not sure what direction to go for that bit of extra flavor. I have to admit that I don’t get excited by raisins in cereal, and most other dried fruits at the store are sweetened. I’m hesitant to go with bananas because 1) they have to be shipped from far away, and 2) now that I’m making smoothies per my naturopath’s instructions I’m only eating one or two bowls of cereal per week so there’s a risk of having bananas go bad. Oh, and bananas have never been my favorite fruit. Strawberries would work, but I try to avoid strawberries unless I am certain that they are organic.

Maybe until the weather turns cool and I switch to hot cereal I’ll live with only chopped nuts as cereal topping.

Posted September 18, 2010 by mayakey in food

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

