Choline Summary   Leave a comment

Back to the research on nutrients. I had to take a break when I finished researching the nutrient deficiencies from my test results, so now I’m back researching my borderline nutrients. I hope this series isn’t boring anyone else to tears. The borderline nutrients are of concern because they may actually be deficiencies. For one thing, as I described in my first nutrient research post, since this is just one data point the natural amount of fluctuation is unknown. For all I know, my blood had a particularly high concentration of that nutrient the day my blood was drawn; or an unusually low concentration. The second reason is (shhh) lab results are not necessarily accurate; there may be up to 10 or 20% error in the result (or at least that’s my experience with environmental chemical analyses). Another thing is that everyone’s body is unique and the actual boundary for deficient/enough of a nutrient probably varies somewhat by person. Since I’m preparing for pregnancy, better safe than sorry.

To start this new rash of research I’m looking into choline. And I can say with absolute certainty that I don’t know what choline does. I tried reading the Wikipedia page, but it was going way over my head and I started skimming. At least until I reached the phrase “…important for pregnant women to get enough choline, since low choline intake may raise the rate of neural tube defects in infants…”. Ok, so this is another important nutrient. Don’t understand what it does, but it’s important for me right now. Got it.

Interestingly enough, choline is apparently associated with the B vitamins, which seem to be my nutrition Achilles heel. It’s water soluble, so the body probably doesn’t store much. When it comes to food sources, though, I am indignant. One of the best dietary sources of choline is eggs. I loooove eggs. I would probably eat a couple of eggs a day if it weren’t for a history of high cholesterol on both sides of my family. How am I not demonstrating a high blood choline concentration? This is why I had to take a break from the research. If the foods I eat regularly are great sources of things that I am deficient in or borderline, and I apparently have a confirmed case of leaky gut causing excessive absorption of some things (for a future post), what is preventing the absorption of these specific nutrients? It’s frustrating. My and my darned need to be involved in my own health…

Posted September 10, 2010 by mayakey in health, pre-pregnancy

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

