Unshopping for a Planner   Leave a comment

Today when I came in to work the annual order form for calendars and planners was sitting at my desk for my entry. I’ve never gotten a planner for work, and usually each year I just mark myself as “none” on the order table and don’t even bother flipping through the catelogue. This year, though, I’ve been taking a look at my time management strategies in the office to figure out how to upgrade them for my current role. The order form was due today so there was a sudden rush of pressure: should I get a planner for 2011? I almost cut short my thought process and ordered a planner as a trial, but luckily my common sense kicked in first and I successfully unshopped:

  • What do I need to be able to do? Keep track of scheduled events and deadlines, and keep a time log of what projects I work on during the day.
  • How do I do that now? I use my Outlook calendar to keep track of scheduled events and deadlines, and the back of a sheet of scrap paper to list tasks that need to be done and log my hours each day.
  • Do I have any problems with my Outlook calendar? No.
  • Do I have any problems with my scrap paper time log? Yes.
  • What problems do I have with my scrap paper time log? There’s not much room to break down the time spent on each project into individual tasks. Knowing that information would really help me understand what tasks I do efficiently/inefficiently. And, it’s not aesthetically pleasing; it’s just a sheet of white paper with some scribbles that are roughly organized by day.
  • Could a planner fix the problems that I have with my scrap paper time log? No. There’s only so much writing that can fit on a page. Large time blocks would have vertical space to note subtasks, but smaller time blocks would be cramped. I’d have to scratch out the quarter hour notations to mark the actual time, and could sometimes run into a situation where I might run out of lines. Planners that have sufficient space for making my weekly task list have even less notation space for each day. It would be more aesthetically pleasing, though.
  • Does the planner have any other pros? No.
  • Does the planner have any other cons? Yes. It would take up more space because of the cover and binding. Even if it is 100% post consumer recycled paper, it still uses more energy/water/paper/resources than re-using a sheet of scrap paper.

End result: No planner for me. I still have to figure out how to improve my time-tracking, but a planner is not the solution.

Posted August 27, 2010 by mayakey in conscious living, resource use, unshopping

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

