A Salad Week   1 comment

Last week was an “eat out or don’t eat” week since our new kitchen was completely covered with boxes of our kitchen stuff. In order to make anything, even a bowl of cereal, the boxes had to become really awkward makeshift countertops. One day I actually found an open half a square foot of counter on which to assemble myself some food. Needless to say we ate out several times, and I just skipped several meals. I didn’t feel hungry and finding/assembling food just wasn’t worth the effort.

This past weekend we got almost all of the dishes and appliances out of boxes and we are now sort of playing musical cabinets as we try to figure out where to put everything. For the most part, our non-perishable food stuff are still in boxes because the pantry is being used as a convenient holding place for dishes, but at least the countertops are clearing off. So when we went to the farmer’s market on Saturday we decided to just get salad stuff and snacking stuff, and not even pretend that sometime this week we might be able to do what could be termed “cooking”.

A week of green salads is not a bad thing for us, since if I may say so myself, we make very good salads. In a typical week we’ll have salad for dinner at least once, often twice. Our salads aren’t just a little bit of lettuce with some dressing, but we go crazy with the toppings. Depending on the season and how much time we want to spend making the salad, we use sunchokes, avocados, tomatoes, cucumbers, radishes, green onions or chives, whole or ground flax seeds, sunflower seeds, garbanzo beans, kidney beans, black olives, hard boiled egg, fresh cilantro or parsley, piñon nuts, and almost always some fresh grated cheese (I think I got everything, it’s hard to remember a year’s worth of toppings). I usually use fresh lemon juice and olive oil to dress my salads during the winter, although occasionally I’ll use balsamic vinegar; and my husband enjoys exploring all the funky salad dressings at the grocery store. Right now we typically have single-lettuce salads since we buy our head for the week at the farmer’s market. We try to alternate between Romaine, red, and green (never iceberg). I look forward to growing our own greens and herbs for mixed green salads, maybe next spring. I also discovered hearty green salads a couple of years ago: radish greens, turnip greens, baby chard, baby kale, etc. Surprisingly good, although they really do require good toppings and a strong dressing. I’d love to get additional salad suggestions if anyone has any to share.

Growing up my parents liked having a salad at every meal (except for a hiatus between giving up on slimy grocery store heads of lettuce and the advent of the pre-bagged salad mix), but it wasn’t something I felt was essential. It wasn’t until I started seeing a naturopathic doctor that I started getting into green salads on my own. He encouraged it as a great way to get several servings of vegetables really easily. It’s definitely true, I mean doesn’t just about everyone like some iteration of green salad? And depending on the size of the bowl, a green salad can be one to four servings of vegetables (or more, I think our “white bowl salads” probably reach five servings of vegetables, plus a half serving of legumes). They can be easy or complex, quick or involved, basic or fun and adventurous, and they don’t involve any actual cooking (unless you are putting hard boiled egg or cooked meat on your salad).

Posted August 17, 2010 by mayakey in food

Tagged with

One response to “A Salad Week

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am in the middle of a rice week and now I am dreaming of eating a salad come monday morning, maybe even for breakfast.

Leave a Reply

