Receipts   1 comment

Good receipt news:

Yesterday I noticed that Home Depot appears to have switched their receipt paper to one that is FSC certified (Forest Stewardship Council) and contains a blend of sustainably harvested wood pulp and recycled paper. Ever since doing a year-long project on the FSC in grad school that logo always draws my attention, so I noticed it even in the grey printing on the back of the receipt dwarfed by the big “Home Depot” logo. What’s interesting is that that receipt was a return. The original receipt just has a plain backside. So they either just recently changed receipt paper or they just recently decided to start advertising it. Either way works for me. I’m actually so pleased that I just sent a message on their website applauding the use of FSC certified paper. Hopefully the receipts aren’t also coated with BPA.

Bad receipt news:

Whole Foods uses receipt paper that contains BPA (at least the store in Superior, Colorado does; see the recent Environmental Working Group study). Aaargh! I really wish there was an alternative to having to shop at Whole Foods. The Co-op is twice as far away as Whole Foods, so that’s why we shop at Whole Foods, but I’m getting sick of only hearing bad news about that store. At least the receipt that was tested had less BPA on it than receipts from Safeway, Chevron, KFC, McDonalds, and the US House of Representatives Cafeteria.

When I saw an earlier study about the presence of BPA on receipts that suggested that receipts could potentially cause more exposure than BPA in food containers, I pretty much heaved a big sigh and shrugged my shoulders. I handle the finances so I handle pretty much every single receipt. That’s not something that’s going to change. So there’s really nothing that I can do about this source of exposure. I can’t practically avoid it. At least by using a stainless steel water bottle and reducing our canned food consumption I’ve reduced my overall exposure, but it’s frustrating to find another major source that is completely outside of my control. This is exactly why I am such a strong believer in the need to apply the Precautionary Principle on a national/global scale. And I think I’m going to write a complaint message to Whole Foods.

Ugly receipt news (at least to me):

I am overrun with receipts. Luckily most of them are small, but there are a lot of “oh yeah” purchases in this process of getting our new house move-in ready.

Posted July 29, 2010 by mayakey in advocacy, environment

Tagged with , ,

One response to “Receipts

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Appleton Papers, which makes more than 50 percent of the receipt paper sold in the U.S., stopped using BPA in 2006. After reviewing available science we concluded removing BPA from our thermal products was the responsible thing to do. In doing so, we gave retailers and restaurants a safe, easy and cost-competitive choice. Our BPA-free thermal receipt paper is available globally.

    We realize that many of our competitors continue to use BPA despite mounting concerns about its safety. We are actively participating in the EPA’s BPA Alternatives in Thermal Paper Partnership. We hope the remainder of the thermal paper industry moves away from potentially harmful BPA. More information about the partnership is available on the EPA website: http://www.epa.gov/dfe/pubs/projects/bpa/index.htm

    For more information about Appleton and our BPA-free thermal paper products, visit http://www.appletonideas.com.

Leave a Reply

