What I Mean By Conscious Living   2 comments

Recently I looked at my list of categories and tags and realized that this blog looks like it is all over the place with no focus. I decided that maybe it would be a good idea to attempt to describe what I mean by “conscious living” to explain why my tags are so diverse.

The short description would be: It’s a license to over-think everything.

For the slightly longer description I’ll go to the dictionary. The first definition of “consciousness” in the the dictionary is “a: the quality or state of being aware especially of something within oneself; b: the state or fact of being conscious of an external object, state, or fact; c: awareness, especially concern for some social or political cause.” By conscious living I mean all three of those parts, really.

The first part of that definition is for me the most important. I desire to be very will in touch with myself, which I feel brings peace and contentment. I crave inner quiet and peace, and yet I find this aspect of conscious living to be the most difficult. It is easy to get caught up in the rush of the mainstream world and deny/ignore what the self (body, mind, heart, spirit, and intuition) say and need. This is definitely a journey not a destination!

The second and third parts of the definition are entwined in my thinking, and they make up the most active part of what I refer to as conscious living. I try to think out everything that I do so that I maximize benefits to myself, the people around me, the people directly or indirectly affected by my actions, and the biosphere in general, while minimizing negative effects to the same. That means thinking about how my life affects those around me, doing a lot of research, thinking about the webs of connections, and constantly navigating fields of gray (see what I mean by “license to over think”? no rational person would choose to live like this).

I sometimes think that the different parts of the definition of consciousness actually conflict with each other. Is it really possible to strive for it all? I don’t know but I’d love to try.

Posted July 20, 2010 by mayakey in conscious living, mission

2 responses to “What I Mean By Conscious Living

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You have a very clever mind.Your blogs are always very interesting to read..I never regret i click on this site i am learning and counting..About consciousness i think you are right,,it depends on how aware or conscious you are whether on the things you do or your actions or even on how people around you will react to it.It only depends on how they or you perceive it.

    Laying laminate flooring

  2. yes you are right, there might be more than a possible definition

Leave a Reply

