Diet and Lifestyle Changes   Leave a comment

This week during the initial appointment with my new naturopathic doctor, I had a revelation about myself. She was going over my new patient intake form, verifying information, when we got to the supplements section. I take a women’s multivitamin, and that’s it. When she asked if I take anything else, I responded, “No, I don’t like to take things, except for short specific durations. I’d rather change my diet and lifestyle.” Then I paused. “I guess that makes me a little different than the average American.”

I never thought about it that way before. What is the attraction to taking a pill every day when making a change to diet and lifestyle could make the problem go away completely? I don’t know. I hadn’t realized that my path has taken me so far that I don’t know the answer to that question. The last time I took something was the low dose antibiotic that I took for acne for a while in college. That experience taught me a lot (and now embarrasses me). I finally realized that the antibiotic was making the problem worse, not better, and that all of the topical creams weren’t doing anything at all. Improvement came after making some attitude changes, and I’ve never looked back.

I admit, I like to encourage people to make changes, to examine how psychology affects physiology, and to take charge of their lives and health. It is something that I feel very strongly about, on a personal and intellectual level. I don’t want to offend anyone, but sometimes my tongue gets tired of me biting it.

Posted July 2, 2010 by mayakey in health

Leave a Reply

