Small Moments in the Shadow of a Big Event   2 comments

In the run-up to buying our first house I am excited, I am nervous, and I’m in denial. Well, maybe denial isn’t the right word. What I mean is that mentally I am not focussed on the big event on purpose. Whenever a big change (or not-so-big change) is on the horizon in my life I tend to focus more on enjoying the small moments rather than being consumed by the upcoming event. I feel pulled to enjoy the small moments so that I remember them, and also because they are invigorating and relaxing.

I remember when I was a little kid and my mom gave me one of the best pieces of advice EVER: Enjoy your life today, don’t spend all your time longing for the future. In context she was encouraging me to just enjoy being a kid and not waste time trying to be a bigger kid/adult because it would happen eventually anyway. Over the years I have kept that advice in mind and have pretty much always found it to be true. Life is all about now, not tomorrow. If you never live today, never soak in the small moments that make up life, than you never really live. Tomorrow isn’t reality, it is fiction. (And yesterday is history, literally.)

As we prepare to move out of the duplex where I have lived for six years, I am trying to very consciously focus on what I have enjoyed here because soon enough it will be gone. If I had to write a list of things that I like and don’t like about this house the “don’t like” list would be longer, but that just makes it more important for me to make sure that the good stuff is ingrained in my mind. I want my memories to include the way the early morning sun peeks in the bedroom window in the middle of summer and how beautiful my mom’s art looks hanging above the fireplace; the sensuality of showering with afternoon sun streaming in the window or of showering by candlelight; and of course the feeling of home.

So I anticipate moving into a slightly better/nicer house and making that our home, but I soak in all of the small moments that I can right here and now, and I look around me with a sense of nostalgia already growing in my heart.

Posted June 2, 2010 by mayakey in conscious living, musings

Tagged with

2 responses to “Small Moments in the Shadow of a Big Event

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for the reminder. At present, I keep thinking of my life as being on hold until I find a house with a good studio room. I guess sometimes our minds get off track and we need a reminder of get back to where we need to be.

  2. I find this post really true..We are here not for the future but for now..How could we live our future if we do not start on what we have now..I certainly agree with this..

    Nice post..

    Laying laminate flooring

Leave a Reply

