Making Scones   4 comments

I am embarking on a new journey today: regular scone making. I hope “regular” anyway. I used to buy a muffin at the farmer’s market every Saturday to eat before Mass on Sunday morning, but about a month ago I stopped getting the muffin as part of my pre-pre-pregnancy diet changes. The muffins were wrapped in basic food service PVC plastic wrap, so they had to go. (Plus it was $2 a week for something that was passable but not great or healthy.) I love scones, and they are easy to make, so they seemed like to best option when trying to start a new baking routine. (I hope the routine sticks, and I can eventually add bread, too.)

PVC is something to avoid for a multitude of reasons along the entire life cycle. It is made from vinyl choride, a known carcinogen, which means there is an elevated health risk to workers and residents near manufacturing plants. The manufacture of PVC also creates highly toxic dioxins, which deposit on plants including feed crops and food crops, and then enter into our food chain where they bioaccumulate. PVC often contains plasticizers like phthalates to make them soft and pliable (like clingy food wraps). Research on phthalates is not conclusive yet, but there are strong indications that phthalates contribute to birth defects in boys. And PVC is not recyclable. So PVC is a bad actor cradle-to-grave, and yet has become so pervasive in our society that it is pretty much impossible to avoid exposure. For years I have tried to avoid PVC, but as we prepare to start our family, that effort takes on a whole new urgency.

I know that reducing my exposure to phthalates now isn’t going to reduce my body burden significantly, which means that my baby will be born with a body burden. I figure that I can at least not make it any worse, though, hence the personal restrictions.

The send-off on this new scone making journey was successful. I made 50/50 whole wheat flour/white flour scones with chopped fresh apricots. They came out well (I had to test one while still warm from the oven of course), although at one point during the making I was a little worried. I have a tendency to make changes to recipes before I actually know what I am doing, and that’s really not a good idea. In this case I was using whole wheat flour in a white flour recipe and adding fresh fruit, but I didn’t know how to adjust the liquid amount accordingly. I look forward to more scone experiments; and maybe eventually I’ll figure out what I’m doing.

Posted May 29, 2010 by mayakey in food, frugal living, simple living

Tagged with , , ,

4 responses to “Making Scones

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Here is a good place to include a scone recipe and give alternatives to cling wrap? What are some good wraps? Paper? Was paper? Paper towel?

    • I can’t recommend a scone recipe yet, since I’ve only used one recipe one time. I’m not a baker.

      Good idea about doing research into cling wrap alternatives. I’ll do the research and do a post on that soon. Off the top of my head I think that most consumer plastic wraps and zipper bags are PVC-free, and tupperware/gladware/etc are “food safe” plastics.

  2. But are they BPA free?

  3. Pingback: Bare Floors, For Now « Love Knowledge Zeal & Fortitude

Leave a Reply

