Detox Lite and Late   Leave a comment

This week I am doing my spring detox, which I usually do a little earlier in the year (not by much, usually the beginning of April, not the end). I know that detoxes get bad press, or at best “there’s no evidence” press, but I kind of like my annual event.

The body has a whole host of natural detoxification systems including skin, lymphatic system, lungs, kidneys, and liver. These systems work constantly to keep us healthy, sometimes with no help from ourselves. By that I mean all of the things that we do that interfere with healthy body functions: not drinking enough fluids, not eating enough fiber, eating too much, eating too much of specific problem foods, not getting enough sleep, not exercising, stressing, smoking, etcetera.

In my mind, my spring detox is a RESET button for my body. This year, because of stress I’m doing a shorter detox but it still involves the following temporary changes.

  1. Modified diet. No meat (big whoop, I’ll miss my one serving of meat during the week, boo hoo). No dairy (it’s a common allergen, so I take a few days off; and it is a big deal, I mean 5 whole days without cheese!). No wheat and other common allergen grains (really big deal; this is what makes the detox diet a challenge, just try to go 5 days with no wheat products). Note: some people do serious fasting or juice diets, which I do not advocate. How that can possibly be healthy I don’t know. Plus I’ve heard that you get really bad constipation when transitioning back to solid foods, so what’s the point?
  2. More fluids. Specifically: more water, a “detox tonic”, and a “detox tea” The water is essential to the body’s detoxification systems so the primary focus is to make sure that throughout the day the body is fully hydrated. The detox tonic is water with lemon (to stimulate the liver), and a dash of cayenne (to stimulate circulation). The detox tea is based on dandelion root, which is supposed to be really good for the liver.
  3. More sleep. Ummm, yeah, I try and I fail every year. It is really sad that I can’t even make myself get enough sleep for 1 week a year.
  4. Supplements. Namely psyllium seed capsules (for colon cleansing) and turmeric (again, for the liver).
  5. Body brushing. This stimulates the lymphatic system, which carries waste from tissue to blood. This feels really good. This is something that I wish I could do every morning all year, but that always falls by the wayside.

Every year I mean to do more research about the stuff in my detox plan; and I never have. Unfortunately, that means I don’t have a lot of facts to share here. Maybe for the rest of the week I’ll make myself do some research to report. Hmmmm.

Posted April 27, 2010 by mayakey in health

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

