A Non-Frugal Eco Purchase   Leave a comment

At the San Francisco Spring 2010 Green Festival this past weekend I made the absolutely ridiculous purchase of a small printed towel for $6 (festival special price). Even as I made the decision to buy the towel, I was laughing at myself, knowing that I could get/make myself an equally good towel. It is a rare example of a marketing ploy actually working on me. In general I pride myself in ignoring advertising and marketing, and actually tend to lean towards non-advertised products. When I saw a TV ad for Seventh Generation, I was horrified. Apparently in my mind I feel that I can’t trust a company that advertises on TV. I think I may have let my aversion to advertising go a little too far.

Anyway, back to the towel. For probably the last year and a half, about two-thirds of my trips to the restroom at work are accompanied by the thought that “I should bring a towel instead of using all of these paper towels, this is a ridiculous waste of paper.” Note that for about a year and a half I have not actually provided myself a towel at work to use for drying my hands. At the Green Festival I walked past a booth for a company selling small, light-weight, decorated organic cotton towels designed to be carried with you to use instead of paper towels in public restrooms. On the spur of the moment I decided that spending the money right then and there was a better decision overall than going another year and half before I get around to bringing a towel to work.

Sometimes spur-of-the-moment purchases are baaaad, sometimes they’re ok, and sometimes you just have to laugh at yourself. But at least I won’t need to keep wasting paper towels at work, and I will give my coworkers another reason to think I’m a little “different”.

Posted April 13, 2010 by mayakey in frugal living, shopping

Leave a Reply

